Gameblox TA: Ask me anything!

• Author

Profile photo of krusenkrusen
    Keymaster

Welcome to the course! My name is Nolan and I will be the TA for the Gameblox portions of this class. I am a student at MIT and have previously taught Gameblox in the classroom environment. If you ever have any questions regarding the software, how to do something, or you might have found a bug, please feel free to start a thread or post in another thread and I’ll help you as soon as possible.

Happy Gaming!
    Nolan

grampy
    Participant

I was looking around to try to find any tutorials, but I haven’t had any luck.
    Is there a link that you could share?

Thanks

Profile photo of krusenkrusen
      Keymaster

Hi grampy,

If you go to the Gameblox site, click “Create”, then click “Help” in the top right, you’ll be given a whole bunch of tutorials to try.

Hope that helps!

brendaraymondcr
    Participant

I have discovered that if a sprite is dragged, it’s not reported as a click until after the mouse button is released. But I need to know the moment a sprite is clicked on whether or not it is dragged.

What I’m trying to do:
    First, I have some US coins. The player can click on a coin to clone it. My natural tendency is to click and drag on the coin, as a result my cloned coin doesn’t show up until the end of my drag but I want it to appear as soon as the mousedown occurs. Then the coin can be dragged to a balance. When it collides with the balance the balances counter goes up. Now, if they choose to drag the coin off the balance, I need the counter to go down. However, I’m having trouble detecting that the coin is being dragged. I need to detect when the sprite is first clicked so that I can check if it’s touching the balance so that I know to reduce my counter.

The When mouse/active pointer is down event doesn’t indicate if it’s down on a sprite.

suzannegrey007
    Participant

Hi, how long has this site been running for?